top of page
Search
  • Uma

When in India...

Updated: Jan 29, 2020

It is very easy for us to sit in a different country, read articles about other places and to pass judgement about what should be or what can be, but it is quite a different thing to spend time there, and really analyze the root of the problem. Because I do believe that what the rape epidemic in India needs is an Indian solution. One of the most important lessons I came back with was the fact that creating change in India is not going to be successful if we try and force Indians to adapt to western ideas. Indians need to create their own path that incorporates existing cultural beliefs with providing women with the freedom and respect they deserve. I ended up finding myself in that sweet spot where I was able to understand cultural references and still be able to challenge certain existing beliefs, while keeping in mind that the sexism in India is more complicated. Having had a strong background in Tamil literature and Hindu mythology, I was able to provide opposition to existing patriarchal standards using their own history. Realizing that people in India wanted to topple the patriarchy was very refreshing. Knowing that many of them are also ready to take up the fight against predators and wanting to see change was inspiring. One of my favorite memories will be my sexual assault prevention seminar in a college where I spent about three hours with 200 Bachelor's in Education students and how as a group they realized the power they held in being able to raise a generation that knew how to respect women and other minority groups.


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page