top of page
Search
  • Uma

How Global Learning Courses shaped my college career?

Updated: Jan 29, 2020

One of the most life changing experiences I have had so far at Florida International University was when I took the Introduction to Global Gender Studies class in my freshman year to complete a global learning requirement. In this class, we had to choose a country, different from our own, and write a research paper about some form of violence faced by a group of people based on their gender or sexuality. For my paper, I decided to write about Rape against Women in India. What I read when doing my research made me extremely curious and even passionate about the topic. I felt that I had to go and live there for a good amount of time and truly understand why there was such a high rate of sexual assault in India. This led me to the life altering three months in rural Tamil Nadu, India where I conducted an independent field research on "The Influence of the Education System on Rape Culture"

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page